Earthquake · reviewed by a seismologist
M 3.1ml
20 km ESE of Anza, CA
99 km (61 mi) NE of San Diego, CA · 28 km (17 mi) SSW of Palm Desert, CA
- When
- Magnitude
- M 3.1 (ml)
- Depth
- 5.1 km below the surface
- Felt
- 8 reports · strongest reported intensity IV
- Nearest
- Riverside County, 50 km ENE
- Nearest mapped fault
- San Jacinto fault, under 1 km from its surface trace — near is not the same as on
- Status
- Reviewed by a seismologist
USGS · last changed by USGS · we first saw it 51 minutes ago
This was a small earthquake. Shaking like this is often felt indoors nearby and very rarely causes damage. 8 people have reported feeling it to USGS.
How big was it?
This earthquake released about 1,300 lb of TNT. Magnitude is logarithmic: each whole step up releases about 32 times more energy, so a magnitude 4.1 would have released about 32 times as much.
- Northridge, California 1994 M 6.7 270,000× the energy of this one
- Mineral, Virginia 2011 M 5.8 12,000× the energy of this one
- Magna, Utah 2020 M 5.7 8,500× the energy of this one
- This earthquake M 3.1 about 1,300 lb of TNT
- Around the size people start to feel M 3.0 this one released 1.3× more
Energy from the Gutenberg–Richter relation (log10E = 1.5M + 4.8), rounded to two figures; bar length is magnitude, which is already a logarithm of energy. Magnitudes of past earthquakes from the USGS catalogue.
For this area
The largest earthquake within 50 km since 2016 was M 5.2 on 2016-06-10 — about 1,500 times the energy of this one.
Before 2016, the USGS record lists 12 earthquakes of M5 or more within 50 km; the five largest:
- 6.6 The 1968 Borrego Mountain, California Earthquake · 49 km SE of this epicentre
- 6.4 The 1954 San Jacinto Fault, California Earthquake · 42 km ESE of this epicentre
- 6.0 16km WSW of Oasis, CA · 23 km ESE of this epicentre
- 5.7 Eastern San Diego County, California · 48 km SE of this epicentre
- 5.5 8km NNE of Ocotillo Wells, CA · 47 km SE of this epicentre
Since 2016: the QuakeIndex catalogue (US, M1.5+), built from the USGS FDSN event service. Before 2016: USGS ComCat, M5+ from 1900. Distances are between epicentres. This is the record, not a forecast.
Where
Epicentre 33.5023, -116.4633. Map © OpenStreetMap contributors.
Nearby places
| Place | Distance | Direction from the epicentre | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Riverside County, CA | 50 km (31 mi) | ENE | earthquakes near Riverside County |
| San Diego County, CA | 61 km (38 mi) | SSW | earthquakes near San Diego County |
| Imperial County, CA | 115 km (72 mi) | ESE | earthquakes near Imperial County |
Places and coordinates from the US Census Bureau Gazetteer (2024). Distances are from the epicentre.
Aftershocks so far
4 earthquakes have been recorded within 50 km since this one.
- 0.8 21 km ESE of Anza, CA
- 0.6 21 km ESE of Anza, CA
- 1.1 12 km NNW of Aguanga, CA
- 1.3 21 km ESE of Anza, CA
Counted from the QuakeIndex database, which ingests the USGS feed every 30 seconds · as of . QuakeIndex does not forecast aftershocks. When USGS issues an operational aftershock forecast it appears on the USGS event page.
Revisions
USGS refines a solution as more stations report. Every change we have seen is listed here.
| What changed | From | To | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| location | 21 km ESE of Anza, CA | 20 km ESE of Anza, CA | |
| longitude | -116.46 | -116.46 | |
| latitude | 33.5 | 33.5 | |
| depth | 4.55 | 5.13 | |
| magnitude | 3.09 | 3.08 | |
| felt reports | 5 | 8 | |
| review status | automatic | reviewed | |
| felt reports | 2 | 5 | |
| reported intensity | not reported | 4.1 | |
| felt reports | not reported | 2 |
On USGS
- The official USGS event page — the source of record for every value above
- Did you feel it? Report it to USGS — reports go to USGS, not to us
- ShakeMap for this event, when USGS has produced one
QuakeIndex does not issue warnings. For earthquake early warning see ShakeAlert.