Earthquake · reviewed by a seismologist
M 2.0ml
Earthquake near Anza, CA
USGS: 22 km ESE of Anza, CA
95 km (59 mi) NE of San Diego, CA · 32 km (20 mi) SSW of Palm Desert, CA
- When
- 1:56 am PDT on 2 October 2026 ()
- Where
- 22 km (13 mi) ESE of Anza, CA · earthquakes near Anza
- Magnitude
- M 2.0 (ml)
- Depth
- 2.9 km below the surface
- Felt
- no reports yet
- Nearest
- Riverside County, 53 km NE
- Nearest mapped fault
- San Jacinto fault, under 1 km from its surface trace — near is not the same as on
- Status
- Reviewed by a seismologist
USGS · last changed by USGS · we first saw it 17 hours ago
A magnitude 2.0 earthquake was recorded 22 km (13 mi) ESE of Anza, CA, at 1:56 am PDT on 2 October 2026 (08:56 UTC). This was a minor earthquake. Quakes this small are rarely felt and do not cause damage.
Earthquakes near other towns within 30 km: Borrego Springs, La Quinta, Vista Santa Rosa.
How big was it?
This earthquake released about 26 lb of TNT. Magnitude is logarithmic: each whole step up releases about 32 times more energy, so a magnitude 3.0 would have released about 32 times as much.
- Mineral, Virginia 2011 M 5.8 580,000× the energy of this one
- Magna, Utah 2020 M 5.7 410,000× the energy of this one
- Around the size people start to feel M 3.0 36× the energy of this one
- This earthquake M 2.0 about 26 lb of TNT
Energy from the Gutenberg–Richter relation (log10E = 1.5M + 4.8), rounded to two figures; bar length is magnitude, which is already a logarithm of energy. Magnitudes of past earthquakes from the USGS catalogue.
For this area
The largest earthquake within 50 km since 2016 was M 5.2 on 2025-04-14 — about 75,000 times the energy of this one.
Before 2016, the USGS record lists 12 earthquakes of M5 or more within 50 km; the five largest:
- 6.6 The 1968 Borrego Mountain, California Earthquake · 46 km SE of this epicentre
- 6.4 The 1954 San Jacinto Fault, California Earthquake · 40 km ESE of this epicentre
- 6.0 16km WSW of Oasis, CA · 21 km ESE of this epicentre
- 5.7 Eastern San Diego County, California · 45 km SE of this epicentre
- 5.5 8km NNE of Ocotillo Wells, CA · 44 km SE of this epicentre
Since 2016: the QuakeIndex catalogue (US, M1.5+), built from the USGS FDSN event service. Before 2016: USGS ComCat, M5+ from 1900. Distances are between epicentres. This is the record, not a forecast.
Where
Epicentre 33.4615, -116.4693. Map © OpenStreetMap contributors.
Nearby places
| Place | Distance | Direction from the epicentre | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Riverside County, CA | 53 km (33 mi) | NE | earthquakes near Riverside County |
| San Diego County, CA | 56 km (35 mi) | SSW | earthquakes near San Diego County |
| Imperial County, CA | 114 km (71 mi) | ESE | earthquakes near Imperial County |
Places and coordinates from the US Census Bureau Gazetteer (2024). Distances are from the epicentre.
Aftershocks so far
11 earthquakes have been recorded within 50 km since this one.
- 0.5 12 km W of Anza, CA
- 1.0 8 km ESE of Valle Vista, CA
- 0.4 4 km E of Anza, CA
- 0.3 15 km N of Warner Springs, CA
- 0.8 21 km ESE of Anza, CA
- 0.2 10 km SSW of Idyllwild, CA
- 0.3 15 km N of Warner Springs, CA
- 0.9 22 km ESE of Anza, CA
- 0.7 22 km ESE of Anza, CA
- 0.6 21 km ESE of Anza, CA
- 0.6 22 km ESE of Anza, CA
Counted from the QuakeIndex database, which ingests the USGS feed every 30 seconds · as of . QuakeIndex does not forecast aftershocks. When USGS issues an operational aftershock forecast it appears on the USGS event page.
Revisions
USGS refines a solution as more stations report. Every change we have seen is listed here.
| What changed | From | To | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| reported intensity | not reported | 1 | |
| felt reports | not reported | 0 | |
| review status | automatic | reviewed | |
| longitude | -116.47 | -116.47 | |
| latitude | 33.46 | 33.46 | |
| depth | 3.06 | 2.87 | |
| longitude | -116.47 | -116.47 | |
| latitude | 33.46 | 33.46 | |
| depth | 3.07 | 3.06 | |
| magnitude | 2.05 | 1.96 |
On USGS
- The official USGS event page — the source of record for every value above
- Did you feel it? Report it to USGS — reports go to USGS, not to us
- ShakeMap for this event, when USGS has produced one
QuakeIndex does not issue warnings. For earthquake early warning see ShakeAlert.