Earthquake · automatic estimate, may change
M 2.3ml
Earthquake near San Jacinto, CA
Yes. A magnitude 2.3 earthquake was recorded 3 km (2 mi) N of San Jacinto, CA, at 8:52 pm PDT on 14 October 2026 (03:52 UTC), 13 km deep. 3 people have reported feeling it to USGS. The magnitude and location are an automatic first estimate and may change.
USGS: 3 km N of San Jacinto, CA
in San Jacinto, CA · 136 km (84 mi) E of Los Angeles, CA
- When
- 8:52 pm PDT on 14 October 2026 ()
- Where
- 3 km (2 mi) N of San Jacinto, CA · earthquakes near San Jacinto
- Magnitude
- M 2.3 (ml)
- Depth
- 13 km below the surface
- Felt
- 3 reports · strongest reported intensity II
- Nearest
- Orange County, 77 km W
- Nearest mapped fault
- San Jacinto fault, 6 km from its surface trace — near is not the same as on
- Status
- Automatic — a machine’s first estimate, which may change
USGS · last changed by USGS · we first saw it 2 hours ago
Earthquake alerts for San Jacinto, CA
Get a notification in this browser when USGS records an earthquake near San Jacinto, CA. No account or email needed.
Alerts are on for .
Not a warning. An alert comes after USGS publishes a quake, usually minutes after the shaking. For early warning use ShakeAlert, through your phone's Wireless Emergency Alerts or the MyShake app.
This was a minor earthquake. Quakes this small are rarely felt and do not cause damage.
At this magnitude and depth, people at rest would likely notice it out to about 14 km (9 mi) from the epicentre. In San Jacinto, 3 km away, the estimate is intensity II (weak). Estimated from magnitude, depth and distance with the intensity equation USGS Did You Feel It? uses; felt reports, where there are any, are the measurement.
Likely felt in: San Jacinto 3 km, intensity II · Hemet 7 km, intensity II · East Hemet 8 km, intensity II · Valle Vista 9 km, intensity II · Beaumont 14 km, intensity II. Estimated for each town centre; each link is that town's own record.
How big was it?
This earthquake released about 77 lb of TNT. Magnitude is logarithmic: each whole step up releases about 32 times more energy, so a magnitude 3.3 would have released about 32 times as much.
- Mineral, Virginia 2011 M 5.8 200,000× the energy of this one
- Magna, Utah 2020 M 5.7 140,000× the energy of this one
- Around the size people start to feel M 3.0 12× the energy of this one
- This earthquake M 2.3 about 77 lb of TNT
Energy from the Gutenberg–Richter relation (log10E = 1.5M + 4.8), rounded to two figures; bar length is magnitude, which is already a logarithm of energy. Magnitudes of past earthquakes from the USGS catalogue.
For this area
The largest earthquake within 50 km since 2016 was M 4.5 on 2018-05-08 — about 2,100 times the energy of this one.
Before 2016, the USGS record lists 21 earthquakes of M5 or more within 50 km; the five largest:
- 6.7 The 1918 San Jacinto, California Earthquake · 5 km S of this epicentre
- 6.3 The 1992 Big Bear, California Earthquake · 46 km NNE of this epicentre
- 6.2 3 km SE of San Bernardino, California · 41 km NW of this epicentre
- 6.0 The 1910 Lake Elsinore, California Earthquake · 42 km WSW of this epicentre
- 6.0 The 1986 North Palm Springs, California Earthquake · 39 km ENE of this epicentre
Since 2016: the QuakeIndex catalogue (US, M1.5+), built from the USGS FDSN event service. Before 2016: USGS ComCat, M5+ from 1900. Distances are between epicentres. This is the record, not a forecast.
Where
Epicentre 33.8087, -116.9627. Map © OpenStreetMap contributors.
Nearby places
| Place | Distance | Direction from the epicentre | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Orange County, CA | 77 km (48 mi) | W | earthquakes near Orange County |
| San Diego County, CA | 89 km (55 mi) | SSE | earthquakes near San Diego County |
| Riverside County, CA | 89 km (55 mi) | E | earthquakes near Riverside County |
| San Bernardino County, CA | 137 km (85 mi) | NNE | earthquakes near San Bernardino County |
Places and coordinates from the US Census Bureau Gazetteer (2024). Distances are from the epicentre.
Aftershocks so far
No further earthquakes have been recorded within 50 km since this one.
Counted from the QuakeIndex database, which ingests the USGS feed every 30 seconds · as of . QuakeIndex does not forecast aftershocks. When USGS issues an operational aftershock forecast it appears on the USGS event page.
Revisions
USGS refines a solution as more stations report. Every change we have seen is listed here.
| What changed | From | To | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| reported intensity | 2 | 2.2 | |
| felt reports | 2 | 3 | |
| felt reports | 1 | 2 | |
| reported intensity | not reported | 2 | |
| felt reports | not reported | 1 | |
| longitude | -116.96 | -116.96 | |
| latitude | 33.81 | 33.81 | |
| depth | 13.26 | 13.12 | |
| magnitude | 2.41 | 2.27 |
On USGS
- The official USGS event page — the source of record for every value above
- Did you feel it? Report it to USGS — reports go to USGS, not to us
- ShakeMap for this event, when USGS has produced one
QuakeIndex does not issue warnings. For earthquake early warning see ShakeAlert.