QuakeIndex

Earthquake · automatic estimate, may change

M 2.0md

Earthquake near Calistoga, CA

USGS: 7 km WSW of Calistoga, CA

13 km (8 mi) NNE of Santa Rosa, CA

11:47 am PDT, Sep 29, 2026 · · 0.4 km deep · released about 32 lb of TNT

10 km30 km60 km120 km N Sonoma County 23 kmNapa County 30 kmMarin County 56 kmLake County 62 kmYolo County 67 kmSolano County 70 kmColusa County 78 kmContra Costa County 94 kmSan Francisco County 98 km
Distance rings around the epicentre, with the nearest towns at their true direction and later quakes as coloured dots. Not a shaking map — see the USGS ShakeMap for that.
When
11:47 am PDT on 29 September 2026 ()
Where
7 km (5 mi) WSW of Calistoga, CA · earthquakes near Calistoga
Magnitude
M 2.0 (md)
Depth
0.4 km below the surface
Felt
2 reports · strongest reported intensity II
Nearest
Sonoma County, 23 km W
Nearest mapped fault
Maacama fault, 1 km from its surface trace — near is not the same as on
Status
Automatic — a machine’s first estimate, which may change

USGS · last changed by USGS · we first saw it 3 days ago

A magnitude 2.0 earthquake was recorded 7 km (5 mi) WSW of Calistoga, CA, at 11:47 am PDT on 29 September 2026 (18:47 UTC). 2 people have reported feeling it to USGS. This was a minor earthquake. Quakes this small are rarely felt and do not cause damage.

Earthquakes near other towns within 30 km: Larkfield-Wikiup, Santa Rosa, Windsor, Deer Park, Saint Helena, Angwin.

How big was it?

This earthquake released about 32 lb of TNT. Magnitude is logarithmic: each whole step up releases about 32 times more energy, so a magnitude 3.0 would have released about 32 times as much.

  1. Mineral, Virginia 2011 M 5.8 470,000× the energy of this one
  2. Magna, Utah 2020 M 5.7 330,000× the energy of this one
  3. Around the size people start to feel M 3.0 30× the energy of this one
  4. This earthquake M 2.0 about 32 lb of TNT

Energy from the Gutenberg–Richter relation (log10E = 1.5M + 4.8), rounded to two figures; bar length is magnitude, which is already a logarithm of energy. Magnitudes of past earthquakes from the USGS catalogue.

For this area

The largest earthquake within 50 km since 2016 was M 5.0 on 2016-12-14 — about 31,000 times the energy of this one.

Before 2016, the USGS record lists 3 earthquakes of M5 or more within 50 km:

  1. 6.0 The 2014 South Napa, California Earthquake · 48 km SE of this epicentre
  2. 5.3 3 km E of Bloomfield, California · 30 km SSW of this epicentre
  3. 5.3 Northern California · 30 km SSW of this epicentre

Since 2016: the QuakeIndex catalogue (US, M1.5+), built from the USGS FDSN event service. Before 2016: USGS ComCat, M5+ from 1900. Distances are between epicentres. This is the record, not a forecast.

Where

Epicentre 38.5542, -122.6600. Map © OpenStreetMap contributors.

Nearby places

PlaceDistanceDirection from the epicentre
Sonoma County, CA 23 km (15 mi) W earthquakes near Sonoma County
Napa County, CA 30 km (18 mi) E earthquakes near Napa County
Marin County, CA 56 km (35 mi) S earthquakes near Marin County
Lake County, CA 62 km (39 mi) N earthquakes near Lake County
Yolo County, CA 67 km (42 mi) ENE earthquakes near Yolo County
Solano County, CA 70 km (44 mi) ESE earthquakes near Solano County

Places and coordinates from the US Census Bureau Gazetteer (2024). Distances are from the epicentre.

Aftershocks so far

60 earthquakes have been recorded within 50 km since this one.

  1. 0.7 8 km W of Cobb, CA
  2. 0.7 8 km W of Cobb, CA
  3. 1.4 8 km W of Cobb, CA
  4. 1.9 8 km W of Cobb, CA
  5. 0.7 5 km NNW of The Geysers, CA
  6. 1.8 4 km NW of Santa Rosa, CA
  7. 0.5 6 km NW of The Geysers, CA
  8. 1.0 2 km WSW of Anderson Springs, CA
  9. 1.2 10 km WNW of The Geysers, CA
  10. 1.7 3 km SSW of Anderson Springs, CA
  11. 1.2 8 km W of Cobb, CA
  12. 1.2 10 km WNW of The Geysers, CA
  13. 0.8 10 km WNW of The Geysers, CA
  14. 1.3 7 km NW of The Geysers, CA
  15. 1.1 8 km ESE of Cloverdale, CA

Counted from the QuakeIndex database, which ingests the USGS feed every 30 seconds · as of . QuakeIndex does not forecast aftershocks. When USGS issues an operational aftershock forecast it appears on the USGS event page.

Revisions

USGS refines a solution as more stations report. Every change we have seen is listed here.

What changedFromToWhen
felt reports12
reported intensitynot reported2
felt reportsnot reported1

On USGS

QuakeIndex does not issue warnings. For earthquake early warning see ShakeAlert.