Earthquake · automatic estimate, may change
M 2.4md
Earthquake near Napa, CA
Yes. A magnitude 2.4 earthquake was recorded 6 km (3 mi) SE of Napa, CA, at 10:47 am PDT on 6 October 2026 (17:47 UTC), less than 1 km deep. 1 person has reported feeling it to USGS. The magnitude and location are an automatic first estimate and may change.
This was on 6 October 2026. The latest near Napa: M 2.6 on 29 September 2026.
USGS: 6 km SE of Napa, CA
6 km (4 mi) SE of Napa, CA · 55 km (34 mi) NNE of San Francisco, CA
- When
- 10:47 am PDT on 6 October 2026 ()
- Where
- 6 km (3 mi) SE of Napa, CA · earthquakes near Napa
- Magnitude
- M 2.4 (md)
- Depth
- -0.1 km below the surface
- Felt
- 1 report · strongest reported intensity I
- Nearest
- Solano County, 27 km E
- Nearest mapped fault
- West Napa fault, 6 km from its surface trace — near is not the same as on
- Status
- Automatic — a machine’s first estimate, which may change
USGS · last changed by USGS · we first saw it 7 days ago
This was a minor earthquake. Quakes this small are rarely felt and do not cause damage.
At this magnitude and depth, people at rest would likely notice it out to about 21 km (13 mi) from the epicentre. In Napa, 6 km away, the estimate is intensity III (weak). Estimated from magnitude, depth and distance with the intensity equation USGS Did You Feel It? uses; felt reports, where there are any, are the measurement.
Likely felt in: Napa 6 km, intensity III · American Canyon 9 km, intensity III · Vallejo 17 km, intensity II · Fairfield 18 km, intensity II · Suisun 18 km, intensity II · Sonoma 19 km, intensity II · Yountville 19 km, intensity II. Estimated for each town centre; each link is that town's own record.
How big was it?
This earthquake released about 130 lb of TNT. Magnitude is logarithmic: each whole step up releases about 32 times more energy, so a magnitude 3.4 would have released about 32 times as much.
- Mineral, Virginia 2011 M 5.8 120,000× the energy of this one
- Magna, Utah 2020 M 5.7 83,000× the energy of this one
- Around the size people start to feel M 3.0 7.4× the energy of this one
- This earthquake M 2.4 about 130 lb of TNT
Energy from the Gutenberg–Richter relation (log10E = 1.5M + 4.8), rounded to two figures; bar length is magnitude, which is already a logarithm of energy. Magnitudes of past earthquakes from the USGS catalogue.
For this area
The largest earthquake within 50 km since 2016 was M 4.5 on 2019-10-15 — about 1,100 times the energy of this one.
Before 2016, the USGS record lists 3 earthquakes of M5 or more within 50 km:
- 6.0 The 2014 South Napa, California Earthquake · 7 km SW of this epicentre
- 5.4 South of Elmira, California · 31 km E of this epicentre
- 5.3 3 km E of Bloomfield, California · 49 km W of this epicentre
Since 2016: the QuakeIndex catalogue (US, M1.5+), built from the USGS FDSN event service. Before 2016: USGS ComCat, M5+ from 1900. Distances are between epicentres. This is the record, not a forecast.
Where
Epicentre 38.2570, -122.2485. Map © OpenStreetMap contributors.
Nearby places
| Place | Distance | Direction from the epicentre | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Solano County, CA | 27 km (17 mi) | E | earthquakes near Solano County |
| Napa County, CA | 29 km (18 mi) | NNW | earthquakes near Napa County |
| Contra Costa County, CA | 46 km (28 mi) | SE | earthquakes near Contra Costa County |
| Marin County, CA | 49 km (31 mi) | WSW | earthquakes near Marin County |
| Yolo County, CA | 56 km (35 mi) | NNE | earthquakes near Yolo County |
| Sonoma County, CA | 66 km (41 mi) | WNW | earthquakes near Sonoma County |
Places and coordinates from the US Census Bureau Gazetteer (2024). Distances are from the epicentre.
Aftershocks so far
3 earthquakes have been recorded within 50 km since this one.
Counted from the QuakeIndex database, which ingests the USGS feed every 30 seconds · as of . QuakeIndex does not forecast aftershocks. When USGS issues an operational aftershock forecast it appears on the USGS event page.
Revisions
USGS refines a solution as more stations report. Every change we have seen is listed here.
| What changed | From | To | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| reported intensity | not reported | 1 | |
| felt reports | not reported | 1 |
On USGS
- The official USGS event page — the source of record for every value above
- Did you feel it? Report it to USGS — reports go to USGS, not to us
- ShakeMap for this event, when USGS has produced one
QuakeIndex does not issue warnings. For earthquake early warning see ShakeAlert.