Earthquake · automatic estimate, may change
M 2.3md
Earthquake near Lexington Hills, CA
Yes. A magnitude 2.3 earthquake was recorded 4 km (2 mi) SSW of Lexington Hills, CA, at 2:58 am PDT on 9 October 2026 (09:58 UTC), 13 km deep. 3 people have reported feeling it to USGS. The magnitude and location are an automatic first estimate and may change.
This was on 9 October 2026. The latest near Lexington Hills: M 3.0 on 17 July 2026.
USGS: 4 km SSW of Lexington Hills, CA
24 km (15 mi) SW of San Jose, CA · 18 km (11 mi) NNE of Santa Cruz, CA
- When
- 2:58 am PDT on 9 October 2026 ()
- Where
- 4 km (2 mi) SSW of Lexington Hills, CA · earthquakes near Lexington Hills
- Magnitude
- M 2.3 (md)
- Depth
- 13 km below the surface
- Felt
- 3 reports · strongest reported intensity II
- Nearest
- Santa Cruz County, 14 km S
- Nearest mapped fault
- Butano fault, under 1 km from its surface trace — near is not the same as on
- Status
- Automatic — a machine’s first estimate, which may change
USGS · last changed by USGS · we first saw it 4 days ago
This was a minor earthquake. Quakes this small are rarely felt and do not cause damage.
At this magnitude and depth, people at rest would likely notice it out to about 15 km (9 mi) from the epicentre. In Lexington Hills, 4 km away, the estimate is intensity II (weak). Estimated from magnitude, depth and distance with the intensity equation USGS Did You Feel It? uses; felt reports, where there are any, are the measurement.
Likely felt in: Scotts Valley 9 km, intensity II · Los Gatos 10 km, intensity II · Boulder Creek 12 km, intensity II · Saratoga 15 km, intensity II. Estimated for each town centre; each link is that town's own record.
How big was it?
This earthquake released about 88 lb of TNT. Magnitude is logarithmic: each whole step up releases about 32 times more energy, so a magnitude 3.3 would have released about 32 times as much.
- Mineral, Virginia 2011 M 5.8 170,000× the energy of this one
- Magna, Utah 2020 M 5.7 120,000× the energy of this one
- Around the size people start to feel M 3.0 11× the energy of this one
- This earthquake M 2.3 about 88 lb of TNT
Energy from the Gutenberg–Richter relation (log10E = 1.5M + 4.8), rounded to two figures; bar length is magnitude, which is already a logarithm of energy. Magnitudes of past earthquakes from the USGS catalogue.
For this area
The largest earthquake within 50 km since 2016 was M 5.1 on 2022-10-25 — about 13,000 times the energy of this one.
Before 2016, the USGS record lists 28 earthquakes of M5 or more within 50 km; the five largest:
- 6.9 The 1989 Loma Prieta, California Earthquake · 15 km SE of this epicentre
- 6.5 Near Morgan Hill, California · 31 km E of this epicentre
- 6.3 22 km S of Davenport, California · 41 km SSW of this epicentre
- 6.3 16 km SW of Davenport, California · 39 km SW of this epicentre
- 6.2 Near San Jose, California · 25 km NE of this epicentre
Since 2016: the QuakeIndex catalogue (US, M1.5+), built from the USGS FDSN event service. Before 2016: USGS ComCat, M5+ from 1900. Distances are between epicentres. This is the record, not a forecast.
Where
Epicentre 37.1338, -121.9900. Map © OpenStreetMap contributors.
Nearby places
| Place | Distance | Direction from the epicentre | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Santa Cruz County, CA | 14 km (8 mi) | S | earthquakes near Santa Cruz County |
| Santa Clara County, CA | 28 km (18 mi) | ENE | earthquakes near Santa Clara County |
| San Mateo County, CA | 46 km (29 mi) | NW | earthquakes near San Mateo County |
| Alameda County, CA | 57 km (36 mi) | N | earthquakes near Alameda County |
| Contra Costa County, CA | 87 km (54 mi) | N | earthquakes near Contra Costa County |
| San Benito County, CA | 99 km (62 mi) | SE | earthquakes near San Benito County |
Places and coordinates from the US Census Bureau Gazetteer (2024). Distances are from the epicentre.
Aftershocks so far
2 earthquakes have been recorded within 50 km since this one.
Counted from the QuakeIndex database, which ingests the USGS feed every 30 seconds · as of . QuakeIndex does not forecast aftershocks. When USGS issues an operational aftershock forecast it appears on the USGS event page.
Revisions
USGS refines a solution as more stations report. Every change we have seen is listed here.
| What changed | From | To | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| felt reports | 2 | 3 | |
| reported intensity | not reported | 2.2 | |
| felt reports | not reported | 2 |
On USGS
- The official USGS event page — the source of record for every value above
- Did you feel it? Report it to USGS — reports go to USGS, not to us
- ShakeMap for this event, when USGS has produced one
QuakeIndex does not issue warnings. For earthquake early warning see ShakeAlert.