Earthquake · automatic estimate, may change
M 1.9md
Earthquake near Woodside, CA
Yes. A magnitude 1.9 earthquake was recorded in Woodside, CA, at 4:14 pm PDT on 11 October 2026 (23:14 UTC), 3.8 km deep. 1 person has reported feeling it to USGS. The magnitude and location are an automatic first estimate and may change.
This was on 11 October 2026. The latest near Woodside: M 2.5 on 14 March 2026.
USGS: 1 km NE of Woodside, CA
9 km (6 mi) SSW of Redwood City, CA · 41 km (26 mi) WNW of San Jose, CA
- When
- 4:14 pm PDT on 11 October 2026 ()
- Where
- in Woodside, CA · earthquakes near Woodside
- Magnitude
- M 1.9 (md)
- Depth
- 3.8 km below the surface
- Felt
- 1 report
- Nearest
- San Mateo County, 11 km WSW
- Nearest mapped fault
- San Andreas fault, 1 km from its surface trace — near is not the same as on
- Status
- Automatic — a machine’s first estimate, which may change
USGS · last changed by USGS · we first saw it 33 hours ago
This was a minor earthquake. Quakes this small are rarely felt and do not cause damage.
At this magnitude and depth, people at rest would likely notice it out to about 15 km (9 mi) from the epicentre. Estimated from magnitude, depth and distance with the intensity equation USGS Did You Feel It? uses; felt reports, where there are any, are the measurement.
Likely felt in: Redwood City 5 km, intensity II · Menlo Park 6 km, intensity II · Portola Valley 6 km, intensity II · Stanford 7 km, intensity II · San Carlos 8 km, intensity II · Palo Alto 9 km, intensity II · Belmont 10 km, intensity II · East Palo Alto 10 km, intensity II. Estimated for each town centre; each link is that town's own record.
How big was it?
This earthquake released about 25 lb of TNT. Magnitude is logarithmic: each whole step up releases about 32 times more energy, so a magnitude 2.9 would have released about 32 times as much.
- Mineral, Virginia 2011 M 5.8 620,000× the energy of this one
- Magna, Utah 2020 M 5.7 440,000× the energy of this one
- Around the size people start to feel M 3.0 39× the energy of this one
- This earthquake M 1.9 about 25 lb of TNT
Energy from the Gutenberg–Richter relation (log10E = 1.5M + 4.8), rounded to two figures; bar length is magnitude, which is already a logarithm of energy. Magnitudes of past earthquakes from the USGS catalogue.
For this area
The largest earthquake within 50 km since 2016 was M 4.6 on 2026-04-02 — about 9,400 times the energy of this one.
Before 2016, the USGS record lists 14 earthquakes of M5 or more within 50 km; the five largest:
- 7.9 The 1906 San Francisco, California Earthquake · 44 km NW of this epicentre
- 6.2 Near San Jose, California · 42 km ESE of this epicentre
- 6.1 Near San Jose, California · 47 km ESE of this epicentre
- 5.8 7 km NNW of Boulder Creek, California · 29 km SSE of this epicentre
- 5.7 15 km NE of East Foothills, California · 49 km E of this epicentre
Since 2016: the QuakeIndex catalogue (US, M1.5+), built from the USGS FDSN event service. Before 2016: USGS ComCat, M5+ from 1900. Distances are between epicentres. This is the record, not a forecast.
Where
Epicentre 37.4365, -122.2452. Map © OpenStreetMap contributors.
Nearby places
| Place | Distance | Direction from the epicentre | |
|---|---|---|---|
| San Mateo County, CA | 11 km (7 mi) | WSW | earthquakes near San Mateo County |
| Alameda County, CA | 38 km (23 mi) | NE | earthquakes near Alameda County |
| Santa Cruz County, CA | 52 km (32 mi) | SSE | earthquakes near Santa Cruz County |
| Santa Clara County, CA | 55 km (34 mi) | ESE | earthquakes near Santa Clara County |
| Contra Costa County, CA | 60 km (37 mi) | NNE | earthquakes near Contra Costa County |
| San Francisco County, CA | 77 km (48 mi) | WNW | earthquakes near San Francisco County |
Places and coordinates from the US Census Bureau Gazetteer (2024). Distances are from the epicentre.
Aftershocks so far
1 earthquake has been recorded within 50 km since this one.
Counted from the QuakeIndex database, which ingests the USGS feed every 30 seconds · as of . QuakeIndex does not forecast aftershocks. When USGS issues an operational aftershock forecast it appears on the USGS event page.
Revisions
USGS refines a solution as more stations report. Every change we have seen is listed here.
| What changed | From | To | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| reported intensity | not reported | 0 | |
| felt reports | not reported | 1 |
On USGS
- The official USGS event page — the source of record for every value above
- Did you feel it? Report it to USGS — reports go to USGS, not to us
- ShakeMap for this event, when USGS has produced one
QuakeIndex does not issue warnings. For earthquake early warning see ShakeAlert.