Earthquake · automatic estimate, may change
M 2.5md
Earthquake near Gilroy, CA
Yes. A magnitude 2.5 earthquake was recorded 10 km (6 mi) ESE of Gilroy, CA, at 10:57 am PDT on 15 October 2026 (17:57 UTC), 5.1 km deep. 1 person has reported feeling it to USGS. The magnitude and location are an automatic first estimate and may change.
USGS: 10 km ESE of Gilroy, CA
11 km (7 mi) E of Gilroy, CA · 46 km (29 mi) SE of San Jose, CA
- When
- 10:57 am PDT on 15 October 2026 ()
- Where
- 10 km (6 mi) ESE of Gilroy, CA · earthquakes near Gilroy
- Magnitude
- M 2.5 (md)
- Depth
- 5.1 km below the surface
- Felt
- 1 report · strongest reported intensity II
- Nearest
- Santa Clara County, 33 km NW
- Nearest mapped fault
- Calaveras fault, 1 km from its surface trace — near is not the same as on
- Status
- Automatic — a machine’s first estimate, which may change
USGS · last changed by USGS · we first saw it 50 minutes ago
Earthquake alerts for Gilroy, CA
Get a notification in this browser when USGS records an earthquake near Gilroy, CA. No account or email needed.
Alerts are on for .
Not a warning. An alert comes after USGS publishes a quake, usually minutes after the shaking. For early warning use ShakeAlert, through your phone's Wireless Emergency Alerts or the MyShake app.
This was a small earthquake. Shaking like this is often felt indoors nearby and very rarely causes damage.
At this magnitude and depth, people at rest would likely notice it out to about 22 km (14 mi) from the epicentre. In Gilroy, 10 km away, the estimate is intensity III (weak). Estimated from magnitude, depth and distance with the intensity equation USGS Did You Feel It? uses; felt reports, where there are any, are the measurement.
Likely felt in: Gilroy 10 km, intensity III · Hollister 16 km, intensity II · San Martin 17 km, intensity II · San Juan Bautista 17 km, intensity II · Aromas 20 km, intensity II · Ridgemark 21 km, intensity II. Estimated for each town centre; each link is that town's own record.
How big was it?
This earthquake released about 190 lb of TNT. Magnitude is logarithmic: each whole step up releases about 32 times more energy, so a magnitude 3.5 would have released about 32 times as much.
- Mineral, Virginia 2011 M 5.8 78,000× the energy of this one
- Magna, Utah 2020 M 5.7 55,000× the energy of this one
- Around the size people start to feel M 3.0 4.9× the energy of this one
- This earthquake M 2.5 about 190 lb of TNT
Energy from the Gutenberg–Richter relation (log10E = 1.5M + 4.8), rounded to two figures; bar length is magnitude, which is already a logarithm of energy. Magnitudes of past earthquakes from the USGS catalogue.
For this area
The largest earthquake within 50 km since 2016 was M 5.1 on 2022-10-25 — about 6,000 times the energy of this one.
Before 2016, the USGS record lists 26 earthquakes of M5 or more within 50 km; the five largest:
- 6.9 The 1989 Loma Prieta, California Earthquake · 38 km W of this epicentre
- 6.5 Near Morgan Hill, California · 21 km NW of this epicentre
- 6.2 Near San Jose, California · 46 km NW of this epicentre
- 6.2 The 1984 Morgan Hill, California Earthquake · 41 km NNW of this epicentre
- 6.1 Near San Jose, California · 38 km NW of this epicentre
Since 2016: the QuakeIndex catalogue (US, M1.5+), built from the USGS FDSN event service. Before 2016: USGS ComCat, M5+ from 1900. Distances are between epicentres. This is the record, not a forecast.
Where
Epicentre 36.9882, -121.4605. Map © OpenStreetMap contributors.
Nearby places
| Place | Distance | Direction from the epicentre | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Santa Clara County, CA | 33 km (20 mi) | NW | earthquakes near Santa Clara County |
| Santa Cruz County, CA | 49 km (30 mi) | W | earthquakes near Santa Cruz County |
| San Benito County, CA | 54 km (33 mi) | SE | earthquakes near San Benito County |
| Merced County, CA | 69 km (43 mi) | ENE | earthquakes near Merced County |
| Stanislaus County, CA | 76 km (47 mi) | NNE | earthquakes near Stanislaus County |
| Alameda County, CA | 83 km (52 mi) | NNW | earthquakes near Alameda County |
Places and coordinates from the US Census Bureau Gazetteer (2024). Distances are from the epicentre.
Aftershocks so far
No further earthquakes have been recorded within 50 km since this one.
Counted from the QuakeIndex database, which ingests the USGS feed every 30 seconds · as of . QuakeIndex does not forecast aftershocks. When USGS issues an operational aftershock forecast it appears on the USGS event page.
Revisions
USGS refines a solution as more stations report. Every change we have seen is listed here.
| What changed | From | To | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| reported intensity | not reported | 2 | |
| felt reports | not reported | 1 |
On USGS
- The official USGS event page — the source of record for every value above
- Did you feel it? Report it to USGS — reports go to USGS, not to us
- ShakeMap for this event, when USGS has produced one
QuakeIndex does not issue warnings. For earthquake early warning see ShakeAlert.