QuakeIndex

Earthquake · reviewed by a seismologist

M 2.0ml

Earthquake near Cushing, OK

USGS: 10 km WSW of Shamrock, Oklahoma

87 km (54 mi) ENE of Oklahoma City, OK · 46 km (29 mi) SE of Stillwater, OK

12:16 pm CDT, Sep 30, 2026 · · 7.9 km deep · released about 29 lb of TNT

10 km30 km60 km120 km N Lincoln County 25 kmCreek County 28 kmPayne County 36 kmPawnee County 50 kmOkfuskee County 54 kmLogan County 69 kmOkmulgee County 69 kmTulsa County 73 kmOklahoma County 74 km
Distance rings around the epicentre, with the nearest towns at their true direction and later quakes as coloured dots. Not a shaking map — see the USGS ShakeMap for that.
When
12:16 pm CDT on 30 September 2026 ()
Where
16 km (10 mi) SSE of Cushing, OK · earthquakes near Cushing
Magnitude
M 2.0 (ml)
Depth
7.9 km below the surface
Felt
1 report · strongest reported intensity II
Nearest
Lincoln County, 25 km SW
Status
Reviewed by a seismologist

USGS · last changed by USGS · we first saw it 2 days ago

A magnitude 2.0 earthquake was recorded 16 km (10 mi) SSE of Cushing, OK, at 12:16 pm CDT on 30 September 2026 (17:16 UTC). 1 person has reported feeling it to USGS. This was a minor earthquake. Quakes this small are rarely felt and do not cause damage.

Earthquakes near other towns within 30 km: Stroud, Drumright, Chandler, Oilton, Bristow, Yale.

How big was it?

This earthquake released about 29 lb of TNT. Magnitude is logarithmic: each whole step up releases about 32 times more energy, so a magnitude 3.0 would have released about 32 times as much.

  1. Mineral, Virginia 2011 M 5.8 520,000× the energy of this one
  2. Magna, Utah 2020 M 5.7 370,000× the energy of this one
  3. Around the size people start to feel M 3.0 33× the energy of this one
  4. This earthquake M 2.0 about 29 lb of TNT

Energy from the Gutenberg–Richter relation (log10E = 1.5M + 4.8), rounded to two figures; bar length is magnitude, which is already a logarithm of energy. Magnitudes of past earthquakes from the USGS catalogue.

For this area

The largest earthquake within 50 km since 2016 was M 5.1 on 2024-02-03 — about 40,000 times the energy of this one.

Before 2016, the USGS record lists one earthquake of M5 or more within 50 km:

  1. 5.7 8 km NW of Prague, Oklahoma · 37 km S of this epicentre

Since 2016: the QuakeIndex catalogue (US, M1.5+), built from the USGS FDSN event service. Before 2016: USGS ComCat, M5+ from 1900. Distances are between epicentres. This is the record, not a forecast.

Where

Epicentre 35.8612, -96.6853. Map © OpenStreetMap contributors.

Nearby places

PlaceDistanceDirection from the epicentre
Lincoln County, OK 25 km (15 mi) SW earthquakes near Lincoln County
Creek County, OK 28 km (17 mi) E earthquakes near Creek County
Payne County, OK 36 km (22 mi) NW earthquakes near Payne County
Pawnee County, OK 50 km (31 mi) N earthquakes near Pawnee County
Okfuskee County, OK 54 km (34 mi) SE earthquakes near Okfuskee County
Logan County, OK 69 km (43 mi) W earthquakes near Logan County

Places and coordinates from the US Census Bureau Gazetteer (2024). Distances are from the epicentre.

Aftershocks so far

2 earthquakes have been recorded within 50 km since this one.

  1. 0.6 10 km WSW of Shamrock, Oklahoma
  2. 1.4 10 km WSW of Shamrock, Oklahoma

Counted from the QuakeIndex database, which ingests the USGS feed every 30 seconds · as of . QuakeIndex does not forecast aftershocks. When USGS issues an operational aftershock forecast it appears on the USGS event page.

Revisions

USGS refines a solution as more stations report. Every change we have seen is listed here.

What changedFromToWhen
reported intensitynot reported2
felt reportsnot reported1
review statusautomaticreviewed
longitude-96.68-96.69
latitude35.8635.86
depth3.97.94
magnitude21.99

On USGS

QuakeIndex does not issue warnings. For earthquake early warning see ShakeAlert.