Earthquake · reviewed by a seismologist
M 2.8ml
Earthquake near Duncan, OK
No earthquake was likely felt in Duncan in the 24 hours to 12:11 am CDT (05:11 UTC). The last one was M 2.8, 40 km (25 mi) E, at 8:41 pm CDT on 17 October 2026, estimated intensity II (weak) in town; 4 felt reports to USGS. Every earthquake near Duncan
This page: a magnitude 2.8 earthquake was recorded 40 km (25 mi) east of Duncan, OK, at 8:41 pm CDT on 17 October 2026 (01:41 UTC), 6.0 km deep. 4 people have reported feeling it to USGS.
USGS: 2 km NW of Ratliff City, Oklahoma
- When
- 8:41 pm CDT on 17 October 2026 ()
- Where
- 40 km (25 mi) east of Duncan, OK · earthquakes near Duncan
- Magnitude
- M 2.8 (ml)
- Depth
- 6.0 km below the surface
- Felt
- 4 reports · strongest reported intensity IV
- Nearest
- Stephens County, 30 km W
- Status
- Reviewed by a seismologist
USGS · last changed by USGS · we first saw it 27 hours ago
Earthquake alerts for Duncan, OK
Get a notification in this browser when USGS records an earthquake near Duncan, OK. No account or email needed.
Alerts are on for .
Not a warning. An alert comes after USGS publishes a quake, usually minutes after the shaking. For early warning use ShakeAlert, through your phone's Wireless Emergency Alerts or the MyShake app.
This was a small earthquake. Shaking like this is often felt indoors nearby and very rarely causes damage.
At this magnitude and depth, people at rest would likely notice it out to about 59 km (37 mi) from the epicentre. In Duncan, 40 km away, the estimate is intensity II (weak). Estimated from magnitude, depth and distance with the intensity equation USGS Did You Feel It? uses; felt reports, where there are any, are the measurement.
Likely felt in: Healdton 25 km, intensity III · Wilson 34 km, intensity II · Duncan 40 km, intensity II · Lindsay 42 km, intensity II · Ardmore 47 km, intensity II. Estimated for each town centre; each link is that town's own record.
How big was it?
This earthquake released about 400 lb of TNT. Magnitude is logarithmic: each whole step up releases about 32 times more energy, so a magnitude 3.8 would have released about 32 times as much.
- Mineral, Virginia 2011 M 5.8 38,000× the energy of this one
- Magna, Utah 2020 M 5.7 27,000× the energy of this one
- Around the size people start to feel M 3.0 2.4× the energy of this one
- This earthquake M 2.8 about 400 lb of TNT
Energy from the Gutenberg–Richter relation (log10E = 1.5M + 4.8), rounded to two figures; bar length is magnitude, which is already a logarithm of energy. Magnitudes of past earthquakes from the USGS catalogue.
For this area
No earthquake of M4 or more has been recorded within 50 km since our catalogue begins in 2016.
Before 2016, the USGS record since 1900 lists no earthquake of M5 or more within 50 km.
Since 2016: the QuakeIndex catalogue (US, M1.5+), built from the USGS FDSN event service. Before 2016: USGS ComCat, M5+ from 1900. Distances are between epicentres. This is the record, not a forecast.
Where
Epicentre 34.4600, -97.5268. Map © OpenStreetMap contributors.
Nearby places
| Place | Distance | Direction from the epicentre | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stephens County, OK | 30 km (19 mi) | W | earthquakes near Stephens County |
| Carter County, OK | 32 km (20 mi) | SE | earthquakes near Carter County |
| Garvin County, OK | 34 km (21 mi) | NE | earthquakes near Garvin County |
| Murray County, OK | 42 km (26 mi) | E | earthquakes near Murray County |
| Jefferson County, OK | 49 km (30 mi) | SW | earthquakes near Jefferson County |
| Love County, OK | 62 km (38 mi) | SSE | earthquakes near Love County |
Places and coordinates from the US Census Bureau Gazetteer (2024). Distances are from the epicentre.
Aftershocks so far
No further earthquakes have been recorded within 50 km since this one.
Counted from the QuakeIndex database, which ingests the USGS feed every 30 seconds · as of . QuakeIndex does not forecast aftershocks. When USGS issues an operational aftershock forecast it appears on the USGS event page.
Revisions
USGS refines a solution as more stations report. Every change we have seen is listed here.
| What changed | From | To | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| felt reports | 3 | 4 | |
| felt reports | 2 | 3 | |
| felt reports | 1 | 2 | |
| review status | automatic | reviewed | |
| location | 0 km SW of Ratliff City, Oklahoma | 2 km NW of Ratliff City, Oklahoma | |
| longitude | -97.52 | -97.53 | |
| latitude | 34.44 | 34.46 | |
| depth | 0.83 | 6 | |
| magnitude | 2.84 | 2.75 | |
| reported intensity | not reported | 4.3 | |
| felt reports | not reported | 1 | |
| location | 1 km WSW of Ratliff City, Oklahoma | 0 km SW of Ratliff City, Oklahoma |
On USGS
- The official USGS event page — the source of record for every value above
- Did you feel it? Report it to USGS — reports go to USGS, not to us
- ShakeMap for this event, when USGS has produced one
QuakeIndex does not issue warnings. For earthquake early warning see ShakeAlert.