Earthquake · automatic estimate, may change
M 3.5ml
Earthquake near El Reno, OK
Yes. A magnitude 3.5 earthquake was recorded 12 km (8 mi) northwest of El Reno, OK, at 5:53 am CST on 7 November 2026 (11:53 UTC), 1.9 km deep. 20 people have reported feeling it to USGS. The magnitude and location are an automatic first estimate and may change.
USGS: 7 km ENE of Calumet, Oklahoma
51 km (31 mi) WNW of Oklahoma City, OK
- When
- 5:53 am CST on 7 November 2026 ()
- Where
- 12 km (8 mi) northwest of El Reno, OK · earthquakes near El Reno
- Oklahoma today
- every earthquake in Oklahoma in the last 24 hours
- Magnitude
- M 3.5 (ml)
- Depth
- 1.9 km below the surface
- Felt
- 20 reports · strongest reported intensity V
- Nearest
- Canadian County, 10 km SSE
- Status
- Automatic — a machine’s first estimate, which may change
USGS · last changed by USGS · we first saw it 1 hour ago
Earthquake alerts for El Reno, OK
Get a notification in this browser when USGS records an earthquake near El Reno, OK. No account or email needed.
Alerts are on for .
Not a warning. An alert comes after USGS publishes a quake, usually minutes after the shaking. For early warning use ShakeAlert, through your phone's Wireless Emergency Alerts or the MyShake app.
This was a small earthquake. Shaking like this is often felt indoors nearby and very rarely causes damage.
At this magnitude and depth, people at rest would likely notice it out to about 306 km (190 mi) from the epicentre. In El Reno, 12 km away, the estimate is intensity IV (light). Estimated from magnitude, depth and distance with the intensity equation USGS Did You Feel It? uses; felt reports, where there are any, are the measurement.
Likely felt in: El Reno 12 km, intensity IV · Okarche 13 km, intensity IV · Union City 27 km, intensity III · Yukon 28 km, intensity III · Kingfisher 29 km, intensity III · Minco 35 km, intensity III · Bethany 39 km, intensity III · Mustang 39 km, intensity III. Estimated for each town centre; each link is that town's own record.
How big was it?
This earthquake released about 2.7 tons of TNT. Magnitude is logarithmic: each whole step up releases about 32 times more energy, so a magnitude 4.5 would have released about 32 times as much.
- Northridge, California 1994 M 6.7 63,000× the energy of this one
- Mineral, Virginia 2011 M 5.8 2,800× the energy of this one
- Magna, Utah 2020 M 5.7 2,000× the energy of this one
- This earthquake M 3.5 about 2.7 tons of TNT
- Around the size people start to feel M 3.0 this one released 5.6× more
Energy from the Gutenberg–Richter relation (log10E = 1.5M + 4.8), rounded to two figures; bar length is magnitude, which is already a logarithm of energy. Magnitudes of past earthquakes from the USGS catalogue.
For this area
No earthquake of M4 or more has been recorded within 50 km since our catalogue begins in 2016.
Before 2016, the USGS record since 1900 lists no earthquake of M5 or more within 50 km.
Since 2016: the QuakeIndex catalogue (US, M1.5+), built from the USGS FDSN event service. Before 2016: USGS ComCat, M5+ from 1900. Distances are between epicentres. This is the record, not a forecast.
Where
Epicentre 35.6199, -98.0411. Map © OpenStreetMap contributors.
Nearby places
| Place | Distance | Direction from the epicentre | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canadian County, OK | 10 km (6 mi) | SSE | earthquakes near Canadian County |
| Kingfisher County, OK | 38 km (24 mi) | NNE | earthquakes near Kingfisher County |
| Blaine County, OK | 45 km (28 mi) | NW | earthquakes near Blaine County |
| Oklahoma County, OK | 58 km (36 mi) | E | earthquakes near Oklahoma County |
| Caddo County, OK | 59 km (37 mi) | SSW | earthquakes near Caddo County |
| Logan County, OK | 63 km (39 mi) | ENE | earthquakes near Logan County |
Places and coordinates from the US Census Bureau Gazetteer (2024). Distances are from the epicentre.
Aftershocks so far
No further earthquakes have been recorded within 50 km since this one.
Counted from the QuakeIndex database, which ingests the USGS feed every 30 seconds · as of . QuakeIndex does not forecast aftershocks. When USGS issues an operational aftershock forecast it appears on the USGS event page.
Revisions
USGS refines a solution as more stations report. Every change we have seen is listed here.
| What changed | From | To | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| felt reports | 19 | 20 | |
| felt reports | 18 | 19 | |
| felt reports | 17 | 18 | |
| felt reports | 16 | 17 | |
| felt reports | 10 | 16 | |
| felt reports | 6 | 10 | |
| reported intensity | not reported | 4.8 | |
| felt reports | not reported | 6 | |
| location | 7 km E of Calumet, Oklahoma | 7 km ENE of Calumet, Oklahoma | |
| longitude | -98.04 | -98.04 | |
| latitude | 35.61 | 35.62 | |
| depth | 4.52 | 1.9 |
On USGS
- The official USGS event page — the source of record for every value above
- Did you feel it? Report it to USGS — reports go to USGS, not to us
- ShakeMap for this event, when USGS has produced one
QuakeIndex does not issue warnings. For earthquake early warning see ShakeAlert.