QuakeIndex

Earthquake · reviewed by a seismologist

M 2.6ml

Earthquake near Honaunau-Napoopoo, HI

USGS: 14 km S of Honaunau-Napoopoo, Hawaii

5:02 am HST, Oct 9, 2026 · · 10 km deep · released about 240 lb of TNT

10 km30 km60 km120 km N Hawaii County 49 km
Distance rings around the epicentre, with the nearest towns at their true direction. Not a shaking map — see the USGS ShakeMap for that.
When
5:02 am HST on 9 October 2026 ()
Where
14 km (9 mi) S of Honaunau-Napoopoo, HI · earthquakes near Honaunau-Napoopoo
Magnitude
M 2.6 (ml)
Depth
10 km below the surface
Felt
1 report · strongest reported intensity II
Nearest
Hawaii County, 49 km NE
Nearest mapped fault
Mauna Loa Volcano, 17 km from its surface trace — near is not the same as on
Status
Reviewed by a seismologist

USGS · last changed by USGS · we first saw it 2 hours ago

A magnitude 2.6 earthquake was recorded 14 km (9 mi) S of Honaunau-Napoopoo, HI, at 5:02 am HST on 9 October 2026 (15:02 UTC). 1 person has reported feeling it to USGS. This was a small earthquake. Shaking like this is often felt indoors nearby and very rarely causes damage.

At this magnitude and depth, people at rest would likely notice it out to about 21 km (13 mi) from the epicentre. In Honaunau-Napoopoo, 14 km away, the estimate is intensity II (weak). Estimated from magnitude, depth and distance with the intensity equation USGS Did You Feel It? uses; felt reports, where there are any, are the measurement.

Earthquakes near other towns within 30 km: Captain Cook, Kealakekua, Honalo, Kahaluu-Keauhou.

How big was it?

This earthquake released about 240 lb of TNT. Magnitude is logarithmic: each whole step up releases about 32 times more energy, so a magnitude 3.6 would have released about 32 times as much.

  1. Mineral, Virginia 2011 M 5.8 63,000× the energy of this one
  2. Magna, Utah 2020 M 5.7 45,000× the energy of this one
  3. Around the size people start to feel M 3.0 4× the energy of this one
  4. This earthquake M 2.6 about 240 lb of TNT

Energy from the Gutenberg–Richter relation (log10E = 1.5M + 4.8), rounded to two figures; bar length is magnitude, which is already a logarithm of energy. Magnitudes of past earthquakes from the USGS catalogue.

For this area

The largest earthquake within 50 km since 2016 was M 6.0 on 2026-05-23 — about 110,000 times the energy of this one.

Before 2016, the USGS record lists 19 earthquakes of M5 or more within 50 km; the five largest:

  1. 6.7 22 km W of Volcano, Hawaii · 46 km ENE of this epicentre
  2. 6.5 Hualālai area, Hawaii · 49 km NNW of this epicentre
  3. 6.3 20 km SSW of Honaunau-Napoopoo, Hawaii · 8 km SW of this epicentre
  4. 6.2 21 km N of Pahala, Hawaii · 45 km E of this epicentre
  5. 5.6 3 km NW of Kalaoa, Hawaii · 49 km NNW of this epicentre

Since 2016: the QuakeIndex catalogue (US, M1.5+), built from the USGS FDSN event service. Before 2016: USGS ComCat, M5+ from 1900. Distances are between epicentres. This is the record, not a forecast.

Where

Epicentre 19.3266, -155.8724. Map © OpenStreetMap contributors.

Nearby places

PlaceDistanceDirection from the epicentre
Hawaii County, HI 49 km (31 mi) NE earthquakes near Hawaii County

Places and coordinates from the US Census Bureau Gazetteer (2024). Distances are from the epicentre.

Aftershocks so far

No further earthquakes have been recorded within 50 km since this one.

Counted from the QuakeIndex database, which ingests the USGS feed every 30 seconds · as of . QuakeIndex does not forecast aftershocks. When USGS issues an operational aftershock forecast it appears on the USGS event page.

Revisions

USGS refines a solution as more stations report. Every change we have seen is listed here.

What changedFromToWhen
reported intensitynot reported2
felt reportsnot reported1

On USGS

QuakeIndex does not issue warnings. For earthquake early warning see ShakeAlert.