QuakeIndex

Earthquake · reviewed by a seismologist

M 2.6mb_lg

Earthquake near Pearsall, TX

Yes. A magnitude 2.6 earthquake was recorded 7 km (4 mi) E of Pearsall, TX, at 5:57 am CDT on 11 October 2026 (10:57 UTC), 7.7 km deep. 1 person has reported feeling it to USGS.

USGS: 7 km E of Pearsall, Texas

80 km (50 mi) SW of San Antonio, TX

5:57 am CDT, Oct 11, 2026 · · 7.7 km deep · released about 240 lb of TNT

10 km30 km60 km120 km N Frio County 9 kmAtascosa County 47 kmMedina County 52 kmLa Salle County 60 kmMcMullen County 71 kmZavala County 72 kmBexar County 79 kmUvalde County 89 kmDimmit County 89 km
Distance rings around the epicentre, with the nearest towns at their true direction. Not a shaking map — see the USGS ShakeMap for that.
When
5:57 am CDT on 11 October 2026 ()
Where
7 km (4 mi) E of Pearsall, TX · earthquakes near Pearsall
Magnitude
M 2.6 (mb_lg)
Depth
7.7 km below the surface
Felt
1 report · strongest reported intensity I
Nearest
Frio County, 9 km WSW
Status
Reviewed by a seismologist

USGS · last changed by USGS · we first saw it 1 hour ago

This was a small earthquake. Shaking like this is often felt indoors nearby and very rarely causes damage.

At this magnitude and depth, people at rest would likely notice it out to about 50 km (31 mi) from the epicentre. In Pearsall, 7 km away, the estimate is intensity III (weak). Estimated from magnitude, depth and distance with the intensity equation USGS Did You Feel It? uses; felt reports, where there are any, are the measurement.

Earthquakes near other towns within 30 km: Dilley, Devine.

How big was it?

This earthquake released about 240 lb of TNT. Magnitude is logarithmic: each whole step up releases about 32 times more energy, so a magnitude 3.6 would have released about 32 times as much.

  1. Mineral, Virginia 2011 M 5.8 63,000× the energy of this one
  2. Magna, Utah 2020 M 5.7 45,000× the energy of this one
  3. Around the size people start to feel M 3.0 4× the energy of this one
  4. This earthquake M 2.6 about 240 lb of TNT

Energy from the Gutenberg–Richter relation (log10E = 1.5M + 4.8), rounded to two figures; bar length is magnitude, which is already a logarithm of energy. Magnitudes of past earthquakes from the USGS catalogue.

For this area

No earthquake of M4 or more has been recorded within 50 km since our catalogue begins in 2016.

Before 2016, the USGS record since 1900 lists no earthquake of M5 or more within 50 km.

Since 2016: the QuakeIndex catalogue (US, M1.5+), built from the USGS FDSN event service. Before 2016: USGS ComCat, M5+ from 1900. Distances are between epicentres. This is the record, not a forecast.

Where

Epicentre 28.8909, -99.0224. Map © OpenStreetMap contributors.

Nearby places

PlaceDistanceDirection from the epicentre
Frio County, TX 9 km (5 mi) WSW earthquakes near Frio County
Atascosa County, TX 47 km (29 mi) E earthquakes near Atascosa County
Medina County, TX 52 km (32 mi) N earthquakes near Medina County
La Salle County, TX 60 km (38 mi) S earthquakes near La Salle County
McMullen County, TX 71 km (44 mi) SE earthquakes near McMullen County
Zavala County, TX 72 km (45 mi) W earthquakes near Zavala County

Places and coordinates from the US Census Bureau Gazetteer (2024). Distances are from the epicentre.

Aftershocks so far

No further earthquakes have been recorded within 50 km since this one.

Counted from the QuakeIndex database, which ingests the USGS feed every 30 seconds · as of . QuakeIndex does not forecast aftershocks. When USGS issues an operational aftershock forecast it appears on the USGS event page.

Revisions

USGS refines a solution as more stations report. Every change we have seen is listed here.

What changedFromToWhen
reported intensitynot reported1
felt reportsnot reported1

On USGS

QuakeIndex does not issue warnings. For earthquake early warning see ShakeAlert.