QuakeIndex

Earthquake · reviewed by a seismologist

M 2.0ml

Earthquake near Providence, UT

No earthquake was likely felt in Providence in the 24 hours to 3:56 pm MDT (21:56 UTC). The last one was M 2.0, 13 km (8 mi) ESE, at 6:59 am MDT on 25 June 2026, estimated intensity II (weak) in town. Every earthquake near Providence

This page: a magnitude 2.0 earthquake was recorded 14 km (9 mi) east-southeast of Providence, UT, at 11:09 pm MDT on 15 October 2026 (05:09 UTC), 13 km deep. 1 person has reported feeling it to USGS.

USGS: 14 km ESE of Providence, Utah

17 km (11 mi) ESE of Logan, UT · 103 km (64 mi) NNE of Salt Lake City, UT

11:09 pm MDT, Oct 15, 2026 · · 13 km deep · released about 33 lb of TNT

10 km30 km60 km120 km N Cache County 10 kmRich County 35 kmWeber County 49 kmFranklin County 57 kmMorgan County 65 kmBear Lake County 73 kmDavis County 84 kmOneida County 91 kmUinta County 101 km
Distance rings around the epicentre, with the nearest towns at their true direction. Not a shaking map — see the USGS ShakeMap for that.
When
11:09 pm MDT on 15 October 2026 ()
Where
14 km (9 mi) east-southeast of Providence, UT · earthquakes near Providence
Magnitude
M 2.0 (ml)
Depth
13 km below the surface
Felt
1 report · strongest reported intensity II
Nearest
Cache County, 10 km NW
Nearest mapped fault
East Cache fault, 12 km from its surface trace — near is not the same as on
Status
Reviewed by a seismologist

USGS · last changed by USGS · we first saw it 5 days ago

This was a minor earthquake. Quakes this small are rarely felt and do not cause damage.

At this magnitude and depth, people at rest would likely notice it out to about 10 km (6 mi) from the epicentre. In Providence, 14 km away, the estimate is intensity II (weak). Estimated from magnitude, depth and distance with the intensity equation USGS Did You Feel It? uses; felt reports, where there are any, are the measurement.

Earthquakes near other towns within 30 km: Millville, River Heights, Nibley, North Logan, Logan, Hyrum.

How big was it?

This earthquake released about 33 lb of TNT. Magnitude is logarithmic: each whole step up releases about 32 times more energy, so a magnitude 3.0 would have released about 32 times as much.

  1. Mineral, Virginia 2011 M 5.8 450,000× the energy of this one
  2. Magna, Utah 2020 M 5.7 320,000× the energy of this one
  3. Around the size people start to feel M 3.0 29× the energy of this one
  4. This earthquake M 2.0 about 33 lb of TNT

Energy from the Gutenberg–Richter relation (log10E = 1.5M + 4.8), rounded to two figures; bar length is magnitude, which is already a logarithm of energy. Magnitudes of past earthquakes from the USGS catalogue.

For this area

No earthquake of M4 or more has been recorded within 50 km since our catalogue begins in 2016.

Before 2016, the USGS record lists 4 earthquakes of M5 or more within 50 km:

  1. 5.8 8 km W of Garden City, Utah · 32 km NNE of this epicentre
  2. 5.5 26 km E of Avon, Utah · 23 km SSE of this epicentre
  3. 5.2 16 km ENE of North Logan, Utah · 15 km NNE of this epicentre
  4. 5.0 2 km S of Richmond, Utah · 28 km NNW of this epicentre

Since 2016: the QuakeIndex catalogue (US, M1.5+), built from the USGS FDSN event service. Before 2016: USGS ComCat, M5+ from 1900. Distances are between epicentres. This is the record, not a forecast.

Where

Epicentre 41.6755, -111.6537. Map © OpenStreetMap contributors.

Nearby places

PlaceDistanceDirection from the epicentre
Cache County, UT 10 km (6 mi) NW earthquakes near Cache County
Rich County, UT 35 km (22 mi) E earthquakes near Rich County
Weber County, UT 49 km (30 mi) SSW earthquakes near Weber County
Franklin County, ID 57 km (35 mi) NNW earthquakes near Franklin County
Morgan County, UT 65 km (41 mi) S earthquakes near Morgan County
Bear Lake County, ID 73 km (45 mi) NNE earthquakes near Bear Lake County

Places and coordinates from the US Census Bureau Gazetteer (2024). Distances are from the epicentre.

Aftershocks so far

No further earthquakes have been recorded within 50 km since this one.

Counted from the QuakeIndex database, which ingests the USGS feed every 30 seconds · as of . QuakeIndex does not forecast aftershocks. When USGS issues an operational aftershock forecast it appears on the USGS event page.

Revisions

USGS refines a solution as more stations report. Every change we have seen is listed here.

What changedFromToWhen
reported intensitynot reported2
felt reportsnot reported1

On USGS

QuakeIndex does not issue warnings. For earthquake early warning see ShakeAlert.