QuakeIndex

Earthquake · automatic estimate, may change

M 2.8ml

Earthquake near Wilderness Rim, WA

Yes. A magnitude 2.8 earthquake was recorded 7 km (4 mi) WSW of Wilderness Rim, WA, at 2:00 am PDT on 14 October 2026 (09:00 UTC), 17 km deep. 44 people have reported feeling it to USGS. The magnitude and location are an automatic first estimate and may change.

USGS: 6 km WSW of Wilderness Rim, Washington

44 km (27 mi) ESE of Seattle, WA · 24 km (15 mi) SE of Sammamish, WA

2:00 am PDT, Oct 14, 2026 · · 17 km deep · released about 410 lb of TNT

10 km30 km60 km120 km N King County 8 kmPierce County 47 kmKitsap County 65 kmSnohomish County 71 kmThurston County 91 kmKittitas County 95 kmMason County 100 kmLewis County 102 kmIsland County 102 km
Distance rings around the epicentre, with the nearest towns at their true direction. Not a shaking map — see the USGS ShakeMap for that.
When
2:00 am PDT on 14 October 2026 ()
Where
7 km (4 mi) WSW of Wilderness Rim, WA · earthquakes near Wilderness Rim
Magnitude
M 2.8 (ml)
Depth
17 km below the surface
Felt
44 reports · strongest reported intensity III
Nearest
King County, 8 km N
Nearest mapped fault
Rattlesnake Mountain fault, under 1 km from its surface trace — near is not the same as on
Status
Automatic — a machine’s first estimate, which may change

USGS · last changed by USGS · we first saw it 53 minutes ago

This was a small earthquake. Shaking like this is often felt indoors nearby and very rarely causes damage.

At this magnitude and depth, people at rest would likely notice it out to about 20 km (12 mi) from the epicentre. In Wilderness Rim, 7 km away, the estimate is intensity II (weak). Estimated from magnitude, depth and distance with the intensity equation USGS Did You Feel It? uses; felt reports, where there are any, are the measurement.

Likely felt in: Snoqualmie 12 km, intensity II · Maple Valley 15 km, intensity II · Fall City 17 km, intensity II · Issaquah 18 km, intensity II. Estimated for each town centre; each link is that town's own record.

How big was it?

This earthquake released about 410 lb of TNT. Magnitude is logarithmic: each whole step up releases about 32 times more energy, so a magnitude 3.8 would have released about 32 times as much.

  1. Mineral, Virginia 2011 M 5.8 37,000× the energy of this one
  2. Magna, Utah 2020 M 5.7 26,000× the energy of this one
  3. Around the size people start to feel M 3.0 2.3× the energy of this one
  4. This earthquake M 2.8 about 410 lb of TNT

Energy from the Gutenberg–Richter relation (log10E = 1.5M + 4.8), rounded to two figures; bar length is magnitude, which is already a logarithm of energy. Magnitudes of past earthquakes from the USGS catalogue.

For this area

No earthquake of M4 or more has been recorded within 50 km since our catalogue begins in 2016.

Before 2016, the USGS record lists 4 earthquakes of M5 or more within 50 km:

  1. 6.7 1 km ENE of Dash Point, Washington · 43 km WSW of this epicentre
  2. 5.4 8 km NNE of Lake Marcel-Stillwater, Washington · 38 km N of this epicentre
  3. 5.2 9 km NE of Lake Marcel-Stillwater, Washington · 37 km N of this epicentre
  4. 5.0 3 km WSW of Des Moines, Washington · 39 km W of this epicentre

Since 2016: the QuakeIndex catalogue (US, M1.5+), built from the USGS FDSN event service. Before 2016: USGS ComCat, M5+ from 1900. Distances are between epicentres. This is the record, not a forecast.

Where

Epicentre 47.4200, -121.8522. Map © OpenStreetMap contributors.

Nearby places

PlaceDistanceDirection from the epicentre
King County, WA 8 km (5 mi) N earthquakes near King County
Pierce County, WA 47 km (29 mi) SSW earthquakes near Pierce County
Kitsap County, WA 65 km (40 mi) WNW earthquakes near Kitsap County
Snohomish County, WA 71 km (44 mi) N earthquakes near Snohomish County
Thurston County, WA 91 km (57 mi) SW earthquakes near Thurston County
Kittitas County, WA 95 km (59 mi) ESE earthquakes near Kittitas County

Places and coordinates from the US Census Bureau Gazetteer (2024). Distances are from the epicentre.

Aftershocks so far

No further earthquakes have been recorded within 50 km since this one.

Counted from the QuakeIndex database, which ingests the USGS feed every 30 seconds · as of . QuakeIndex does not forecast aftershocks. When USGS issues an operational aftershock forecast it appears on the USGS event page.

Revisions

USGS refines a solution as more stations report. Every change we have seen is listed here.

What changedFromToWhen
felt reports4344
felt reports4243
felt reports4142
felt reports3641
felt reports2436
felt reports1324
felt reports513
reported intensitynot reported3.4
felt reportsnot reported5

On USGS

QuakeIndex does not issue warnings. For earthquake early warning see ShakeAlert.