Earthquake · reviewed by a seismologist
M 2.7md
Earthquake near Maria Antonia, PR
Yes. A magnitude 2.7 earthquake was recorded in Maria Antonia, PR, at 2:53 am AST on 15 October 2026 (06:53 UTC), 16 km deep. 1 person has reported feeling it to USGS.
USGS: 1 km SSE of Maria Antonia, Puerto Rico
28 km (17 mi) W of Ponce, PR
- When
- 2:53 am AST on 15 October 2026 ()
- Where
- in Maria Antonia, PR · earthquakes near Maria Antonia
- Magnitude
- M 2.7 (md)
- Depth
- 16 km below the surface
- Felt
- 1 report
- Nearest
- Guánica Municipio, 4 km WSW
- Status
- Reviewed by a seismologist
USGS · last changed by USGS · we first saw it 1 hour ago
Earthquake alerts for Maria Antonia, PR
Get a notification in this browser when USGS records an earthquake near Maria Antonia, PR. No account or email needed.
Alerts are on for .
Not a warning. An alert comes after USGS publishes a quake, usually minutes after the shaking. For early warning use ShakeAlert, through your phone's Wireless Emergency Alerts or the MyShake app.
This was a small earthquake. Shaking like this is often felt indoors nearby and very rarely causes damage.
At this magnitude and depth, people at rest would likely notice it out to about 19 km (12 mi) from the epicentre. Estimated from magnitude, depth and distance with the intensity equation USGS Did You Feel It? uses; felt reports, where there are any, are the measurement.
Likely felt in: Maria Antonia in town, intensity II · Guánica 3 km, intensity II · Fuig 4 km, intensity II · Palomas 6 km, intensity II · Indios 8 km, intensity II · Lluveras 9 km, intensity II · Yauco 9 km, intensity II · Liborio Negron Torres 11 km, intensity II. Estimated for each town centre; each link is that town's own record.
How big was it?
This earthquake released about 290 lb of TNT. Magnitude is logarithmic: each whole step up releases about 32 times more energy, so a magnitude 3.7 would have released about 32 times as much.
- Mineral, Virginia 2011 M 5.8 51,000× the energy of this one
- Magna, Utah 2020 M 5.7 36,000× the energy of this one
- Around the size people start to feel M 3.0 3.2× the energy of this one
- This earthquake M 2.7 about 290 lb of TNT
Energy from the Gutenberg–Richter relation (log10E = 1.5M + 4.8), rounded to two figures; bar length is magnitude, which is already a logarithm of energy. Magnitudes of past earthquakes from the USGS catalogue.
For this area
The largest earthquake within 50 km since 2016 was M 6.4 on 2020-01-07 — about 410,000 times the energy of this one.
Before 2016, the USGS record since 1900 lists no earthquake of M5 or more within 50 km.
Since 2016: the QuakeIndex catalogue (US, M1.5+), built from the USGS FDSN event service. Before 2016: USGS ComCat, M5+ from 1900. Distances are between epicentres. This is the record, not a forecast.
Where
Epicentre 17.9622, -66.8843. Map © OpenStreetMap contributors.
Nearby places
| Place | Distance | Direction from the epicentre | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Guánica Municipio, PR | 4 km (3 mi) | WSW | earthquakes near Guánica Municipio |
| Guayanilla Municipio, PR | 10 km (6 mi) | ENE | earthquakes near Guayanilla Municipio |
| Yauco Municipio, PR | 14 km (9 mi) | NNE | earthquakes near Yauco Municipio |
| Sabana Grande Municipio, PR | 15 km (9 mi) | NNW | earthquakes near Sabana Grande Municipio |
| Lajas Municipio, PR | 17 km (10 mi) | W | earthquakes near Lajas Municipio |
| Peñuelas Municipio, PR | 18 km (11 mi) | ENE | earthquakes near Peñuelas Municipio |
Places and coordinates from the US Census Bureau Gazetteer (2024). Distances are from the epicentre.
Aftershocks so far
No further earthquakes have been recorded within 50 km since this one.
Counted from the QuakeIndex database, which ingests the USGS feed every 30 seconds · as of . QuakeIndex does not forecast aftershocks. When USGS issues an operational aftershock forecast it appears on the USGS event page.
Revisions
USGS refines a solution as more stations report. Every change we have seen is listed here.
| What changed | From | To | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| reported intensity | not reported | 0 | |
| felt reports | not reported | 1 |
On USGS
- The official USGS event page — the source of record for every value above
- Did you feel it? Report it to USGS — reports go to USGS, not to us
- ShakeMap for this event, when USGS has produced one
QuakeIndex does not issue warnings. For earthquake early warning see ShakeAlert.